One more time for the bucket brigade PDF Print E-mail

will kurkaWill Kurka (right) rose above the rest. Sam Hennen looked to pass, bottom, right.

By Byron Higgin, Mascot Publisher

Samantha Hennen is hoping to be a nurse and will start training next year.
But Saturday, the two-sport athlete had one last chance to play basketball.
She made the most of it at the Camden Conference North-South Senior Game at Tyler.
Hennen’s north squad defeated the south, 67-51. Hennen added two three-pointers, a total of seven points and four rebounds.sam
She also showed her talents during the halftime three-point shooting contest. She sank seven free throws to make the finals, then hit 12 more (in one minute) for a total of 19. The only south player better was RTR’s Kristen Fritz with a total of  25.
Top scorers for the South squad were Laura Leibfried of Lincoln HI with 12, Fritz with nine and Canby’s Courtney Slaba with nine.
The North team was led by Dawson-Boyd's Kristen Lee with 13; MACCRAY’s Jenna Tebben  with 12 and Central Minnesota Christian’s Lisa Ohden with 11.

THE BOYS contest was more like MACCRAY against the rest.
The Camden Conference North champions (North) rolled up a 99-54 win over the South.
The only victory claimed by the South was holding North from scoring 100 points late in the game.
Minneota’s Will Kurka scored six points and grabbed five rebounds as he played his last game.
Kurka started and logged several minutes.

But the show belonged to MACCRAY’s Shane Condon, who scored 19 points and won both the dunk contest and the three-point shooting contest.
Kurka made the finals of the three-point shooting contest and between the first round and finals sank 21 three-pointers.
Condon sank 33, one more than Central Minnesota Christian’s Logan Erickson.
Leading the south in scoring was Dylan Aeikens of MACCRAY with 25 points.
Kruiz Lindblad of Dawson-Boyd scored 15, including a second half dunk that sparked the crowd.
CMC’s Jordan Daugherty scored 11 and Darrin Caspers of MACCRAY chipped in with nine.

ODDS AND ENDS: The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team announced its team award winners at the program's annual banquet at the Regional Event Center on the campus of SMSU.  
Among them was  two Academic All-NSIC selections, C. D. Johnson and sophomore Tanner Skillings of Minneota.
To be eligible for this honor, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.2.
Wrestling Coach Jesse Nelson said William Fate received this year's rookie of the year award, sophomore Brian Rodas was most improved; Johnson earned the Mustang Award for dedication and academics and he qualified for the NCAA 184-pound finals. Brandan Schunk of Wabasso was outstanding wrestler.