LIzzy Gillingham, Morgan Hennen, Abby Hennen and Lydia Sussner were all named to the Camden Conference's first team.

Four Viking girls make all-conference team

Four Minneota Vikings were named to the Camden South Division All-Conference team. And a fifth was named to the honorable mention list.

The Camden Conference was well represented at the girls’ state tournament with Tracy-Milroy-Balaton placing fifth in Class AA and Minneota third in Class A.

The state’s third place team, the Vikings, placed Lydia Sussner, Abby Hennen, Morgan Hennen and Lizzy Gillingham on the first team.

All four played in the state tournament, helping the Vikings take third place over Mountain Iron-Buhl.

The honorable mention honor went to point guard Morgan Kockelman. In addition to all-conference honors, Sussner was named to the Class A All-State team and was named to the all-tournament team.

During the year, she averaged over 18 points per game with nearly 10 rebounds per contest.

Freshman Abby Hennen also earned all-tournament honors on top of her all-conference designation.

She and sister Morgan Hennen became the only sister pair to make the first team on the entire North and South Division squads. Lizzy Gillingham earned the honor for the first time as a junior.

Named the North’s Most Valuable Player was Kelsea Lund of Lac qui Parle Valley. Coach of the Year John Nolte of Lac qui Parle Valley.

The South’s Most Valuable player was Kaylee Kirk of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton with Coach of the Year was Derek Ashbaugh of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton.

Here is the list of all-conference players:

North Division

LqPV: Kelsea Lund, Haley Wollschlager, Grace Hegland, Lindsay Kranz.

MACCRAY: Sydney Schitters, Piper Asche.

Dawson-Boyd: Alex Sather, Avery Bartunek

Kerkhoven-MS: Katie Krieger

Central MN Christian: Ellie Greenwaldt, Ellie Stoel.

Renville Co. West: Steph Zaske.

South Division:

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton: Kaylee Kirk, Sydney Lanoue, Sidney Karbo, Evelyn Dolan.

Minneota: Lydia Sussner, Abby Hennen, Morgan Hennen, Lizzy Gillingham.

YME: Anna McCosh, Madison Hinz.

Canby: Alyssa Beckius

Lakeview: Haley Unke.

HONORABLE MENTION: Ellie Thien (MACCRAY); Katelyn Bulthuis, (CMC); Madison Rohner (KMS); Aleah Zieske (RCW); Sidney Gerdes (LQPV); Mary Tothun (Dawson-Boyd); Alicia Christian (TMB); Morgan Kockelman (Minneota); Norah King (Canby); Mya Christensen (RTR); MacKenzie Dyrdahl (YME).

Morgan Kockelman was named honorable mention.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492